Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Feb 29, 2024

« Back to News



After another incredibly successful year for Canadian creatives, the Consul General of Canada in Los Angeles, Zaib Shaikh and his wife Kirstine Stewart will once again open the doors of Canada’s House in LA for this year’s Canadian Oscar nominees. Co-hosted by Telefilm Canada, and in collaboration with the National Film Board of Canada and the Talent Fund, Canada’s 2024 Oscars Celebration will take place during Oscar week on Thursday, March 7, 2024. This year’s honourees include some of the country’s most creative, innovative and ground-breaking talent. Several of the nominees will be in attendance alongside industry leaders, entertainment media, and established and emerging filmmakers and actors.

"Each year, Canadians in the film industry continue to demonstrate their exceptional cultural and creative talents while contributing significantly to the economic vitality of our nation,” said Zaib Shaikh, Consul General of Canada in Los Angeles. “It's a privilege to witness their achievements on both sides of the camera and, once again, recognize and applaud them. As we come together to celebrate their success, we also celebrate the rich diversity inherent in Canadian storytelling. It's evident that the stories Canadian talents tell, lead or participate in resonate with global audiences, touching hearts and minds with their exploration of universal truths, commitment to inclusivity, and portrayal of human resilience. Congratulations to all the nominees we'll be honouring.”

This year’s Canadian Oscar nominees include: Ryan Gosling for Best Supporting Actor (Barbie), Celine Song for Best Original Screenplay (Past Lives), Nisha Pahuja, Cornelia Principe, and David Oppenheim for Best Documentary Feature (To Kill a Tiger), Vincent René-Lortie and Samuel Caron for Best Live Action Short (Invincible), Ben Proudfoot for Best Documentary Short (The Last Repair Shop), Troy Quane and Julie Zackary for Best Animated Feature Film (Nimona), Stephane Ceretti (Guardians of the Galaxy 3) and Jeff Sutherland (Mission Impossible) for Best Visual Effects, and the late Robbie Robertson for Best Original Score (Killers of the Flower Moon).

“The diverse array of nominations truly reflects the boundless creativity and excellence of Canadian talent, proving once again that our talent knows no bounds,” said Julie Roy, Executive Director and CEO of Telefilm Canada. “From Celine Song's heartfelt debut to Ryan Gosling’s compelling performance, the animated magic of Troy Quane and Julie Zackary, and the stunning visual effects of Stephane Ceretti and Jeff Sutherland, to the captivating live action short by Vincent René-Lortie and Samuel Caron. Our documentary prowess shines with Nisha Pahuja, Cornelia Principe, and David Oppenheim's To Kill a Tiger, along with Ben Proudfoot's poignant The Last Repair Shop. The late Robbie Robertson’s musical craftsmanship elevates the art of cinema. It is with great pride that we celebrate the cinematic brilliance of Canadians at this year’s Oscars.”

“Congratulations to Nisha Pahuja and her team—and all of Canada’s Academy Award Nominees,” said Suzanne Guèvremont, Government Film Commissioner and NFB Chairperson. “We’re proud to have worked with Nisha Pahuja as co-producer of To Kill a Tiger. The National Film Board of Canada is passionate about providing filmmakers a unique creative environment where they can take risks and create exceptional works—and about sharing that richness with audiences across Canada and around the world.”

Canada’s House in LA welcomes Telefilm and the Talent Fund’s sponsoring partners, The Hollywood Reporter Women in Entertainment Canada and Sheridan College, to celebrate Canadian talent in Los Angeles.

The 2024 Academy Awards® will be televised on March 10, 2024.